N.I.C.E. Hompage

Marketing Today's Newspapers

Montana*Alberta*Oregon*Alaska*Utah*Idaho*Washington*Saskatchewan*British Columbia

N.I.C.E. Homepage
N.I.C.E. officers
Bulliten Board
N.I.C.E. News
Other Sectionals

President's Award

*2007 President's Award Recipient*

Dave Jacobsen, unable to attend the conference aboard the Oosterdam, was presented the 2007 Presidentís award May 11, 2007 by Dale Irvine, NICE Secretary/Treasurer. John Brewer, publisher of the Peninsula Daily News also attended the presentation.

2007 President's Award Recipient
Dave Jacobsen / Peninsula Daily News

2011 President's Award Recipient:
Eileen Widdison / Grants Pass Daily Courier

Past President's Award Recipient:

2008 Raymond Lyon / Lyon Enterprises

2007 Dave Jacobsen / Peninsula Daily News

2006 Michael Zinser /The Zinser Law Firm

2005 Sandra Hollenbeck /Seattle Times

At our conference in May of 2005, we introduced a new program to acknowledge the accomplishments and contributions of an outstanding member of N.I.C.E., the President's Award. In 1991, the Carl Burkheimer Award was first introduced to the membership of N.I.C.E. as a way to honor the contributions of our members. This award, as well as a scholarship of $1,000 sponsored by our friend and long time member Carl until his passing in 1996, and subsequently supported by his wife Mildred until her own death, was presented annually at our spring conference. We were privileged to present 13 Burkheimer Scholarships in honor of, and to the memory of Carl, a great friend and mentor to many of us in the circulation business. The President's Award is a continuation of that commitment to honoring those among us whose contributions further our efforts to insure N.I.C.E. remains a vital, progressive part of training and communication opportunities for circulation executives within the association's membership region. The foundation and spirit of the President's Award, is the commitment to the association's objectives and membership exemplified by Carl Burkheimer and the winners of the scholarships awarded in his name. The following is the criteria for the new N.I.C.E. President's Award program:

The President's Award is to be presented to a person nominated by any primary, associate, or business member in good standing of N.I.C.E.

A committee of at least three past presidents of N.I.C.E. (or past Carl Burkheimer award winners), will be appointed to evaluate nominees and make recommendation to the current president of N.I.C.E. The committee of past award winners will be appointed by the current president of N.I.C.E.

A nominee must be an active member of N.I.C.E. Primary members, associate members, or business members are eligible to be nominated by another active member of N.I.C.E. regardless of their membership distinction.

If in the event that there are no nominees, or perhaps no worthy nominees, from the active members of N.I.C.E., the selection committee may nominate a worthy recipient for the President's Award.

The award presented will be an engraved plaque suitable for hanging in the recipient's office. In addition the award recipient will have their registration provided free for the next N.I.C.E. conference. The award recipient may, at their option, use the free registration for an employee in their circulation department to attend the next upcoming N.I.C.E. conference or Circulation Management Seminar. In either event, the free registration must be used within one year of the award or be forfeited. Nomination forms are mailed out by the selection committee prior to our conference.

Or, you may download a pdf of the current year's nomination letter CLICK HERE

Download a pdf of the current year's nomination form CLICK HERE

Northwest International Circulation Executives

Post Office Box 778

La Conner, Washington 98257

For questions about Northwest International Circulation Executives or to request information, please e-mail us CLICK HERE